Five Stats That Prove Miami Dolphins Receiver Tyreek Hill Is Already A Hall Of Famer

Written By Jason Jarrett on August 28, 2023
Tyreek Hill has the stats already for the NFL Hall of Fame

He hasn’t even turned 30 yet, but it’s lock already that he’ll be wearing a gold jacket to be enshrined into football’s most exclusive club.

Miami Dolphins receiver Tyreek Hill is already a Hall of Famer. Case closed.

Don’t take our word for it. Look at the evidence. Analyze the impact and check the tape. The only question at this point to be decided: Who will present the speedster at the ceremony?

Each of the stats cited below in a vacuum may not get a player into the Hall alone. Taking all five as a group, however, Hill already has the credentials. Below is PlayFL’s breakdown of Hill’s candidacy for Canton and how he stacks up against other receivers in the Hall:

Stat 1: 12 touchdowns as a rookie

Hill immediately made a difference for the Chiefs after the Oklahoma State star was chosen in the fifth round of the 2016 draft. His 12 overall touchdowns were tied for seventh in the league, tops among all rookies. His three return scores led the NFL. Hill’s instant impact on the league led him to be named first-team All-Pro.

Rookie touchdowns for WRs, last 10 seasons

NameTeamNo. of TDsYear
Ja'Marr ChaseCincinnati Bengals132021
Tyreek HillKansas City Chiefs122016
Odell BeckhamNew York Giants122014
Mike EvansTampa Bay Buccaneers122014
Chase ClaypoolPittsburgh Steelers112020
Calvin RidleyAtlanta Falcons102018
Kelvin BenjaminCarolina Panthers92014
AJ BrownTennessee Titans92019
Christian WatsonGreen Bay Packers92022

Stat 2: Setting the pace at scoring 76 touchdowns in first seven years

Add up all of the scores Hill has collected, and he’s near the top of the list of touchdowns for players after their first seven seasons with 76. Hill has taken it to the house via catch, rush, punt return, kickoff return and yes, fumble return. The Cheetah’s 10.9 TDs per season are the most in the league since he was drafted. The only receivers with more scores in their first seven seasons: Jerry Rice and Randy Moss, quite possibly the best two pass catchers to ever play the game. The other five receivers in the top six are all in the Hall of Fame.

Jerry RiceSan Francisco 49ers971985-1991
Randy MossMinnesota Vikings911998-2004
Tyreek HillKansas City Chiefs/Miami Dolphins762016-2022
Lance AlworthSan Diego Chargers751962-1968
Terrell OwensSan Francisco 49ers741996-2002
Marvin HarrisonIndianapolis Colts731996-2002

Stat 3: Seven seasons, seven Pro Bowls

Hill has been the best player at his position since he entered the league, and he’s been honored as such through those seven seasons. Every year, he’s been tabbed to represent the AFC in the Pro Bowl. Only 10 players have done this in their NFL career. Former Cincinnati Bengals star A.J. Green is the only receiver to achieve those honors. Hall of Famers Moss, Rice, Lance Alworth, Terrell Owens and Marvin Harrison came up short. The first six players on the list below are enshrined in Canton.

Jim BrownCleveland BrownsRB1957-1963
Merlin OlsenLos Angeles RamsDT1962-1968
Mel RenfroDallas CowboysDB1964-1970
Lawrence TaylorNew York GiantsLB1981-1987
Barry SandersDetroit LionsRB1989-1995
Joe ThomasCleveland BrownsOL2007-2013
Patrick WillisSan Francisco 49ersLB2007-2013
AJ GreenCincinnati BengalsWR2011-2017
Aaron DonaldLos Angeles RamsDL2014-2020
Tyreek HillMiami DolphinsWR2016-2022

Stat 4: Four First-team All-Pro selections as a WR

In his first seven seasons, Hill has been at the top, and there’s only one stat that matters defining that honor: being voted first-team All-Pro. Only four receivers in NFL history has been tabbed first-team All-Pro more: Rice, Alworth, Owens and Don Hutson. All have busts in Canton.

NameTotal First-team
All-Pro selections
Total All-Pro
Seasons played
Jerry Rice101121
Lance Alworth6711
Don Hutson6611
Terrell Owens5515
Antonio Brown4512
Randy Moss4415
Tyreek Hill447
Marvin Harrison3813
Raymond Berry359
DeAndre Hopkins3510
Julio Jones2512
Steve Largent2514
Paul Warfield2414
Andre Johnson2414

Stat 5: 8,340 receiving yards

Hill has averaged 1,191 receiving yards per season in his seven years in the league. Only nine players have averaged more over their first seven years as a pro. Four of the six retired players are in the Hall of Fame.

Total yards receiving, first seven years in NFL

Torry Holt9.4871999-2005
Calvin Johnson9,3282007-2013
Randy Moss9,1421998-2004
Jerry Rice9,0721985-1991
Julio Jones9,0542011-2017
Marvin Harrison8,8001996-2002
DeAndre Hopkins8,6022013-2019
Antonio Brown8,3772010-2016
Chad Johnson8,3652001-2007
Tyreek Hill8,3402016-2022

One other consideration: If Hill’s career ended today

Some NFL stars have called it quits relatively quickly because of injury or personal decision. Arguably the NFL’s best running back ever, Jim Brown, retired after only nine seasons. Barry Sanders sent in his resignation letter after 10 years at the age of 30. Fellow Detroit Lion Calvin Johnson shocked the league, calling it quits after nine seasons. Hill has played only seven seasons. If he called it career before week one of the 2023 season, his stats stack up.

There are only two modern-day offensive skill position players who played eight seasons or less and made it to Canton. Running back Terrell Davis put up 8,880 yards and 65 TDs over seven seasons with the Denver Broncos. Bruiser Earl Campbell rushed for 10,213 yards and 74 touchdowns over eight seasons. Hill’s 9,091 scrimmage yards and 76 total touchdowns keep pace.

Jason Jarrett Avatar
Written by
Jason Jarrett

Jason is the managing editor and eight other states' websites, covering sports betting and gambling in the two states. He has more than 25 years of journalism experience, spending nearly 10 years as a senior editor at the Austin American-Statesman.

View all posts by Jason Jarrett